Of Note

What achievement – from a person, a company, a nation – captures your attention? Who did something admirable this year? 

I am going full out selfish mode with this prompt as I achieved something last year that I never achieved.

I was told a few times late in the year that I needed to stick around for this after school meeting in which the employees of the year would be announced. I didn’t think too much of it as I didn’t think I would be receiving anything, but figured I would see who did get our teacher and classified employee of the year.

We all met in the small learning room as the principal talked about the classified employee of the year.  Let me say he didn’t exactly make it not known who was going to receive this award as he kept stating he, and well there are only two other males in our school.

I kept getting looks from people as Principal Jackson kept stating all the good things that
“he” had done, and I don’t even know when it fully clicked he was talking about me.

11083625_10100274294847932_4988906346894935884_n(1)

I’ve never been the one to receive any award for the work I do, but I do get compliments from time to time about the hard work I would do. So I never thought I would get an actual recognition of that.

But what a feeling it was to know that you get something for that. Sure, we can all say we’re in our jobs for the right reasons, but at the same time, we all want some praise beyond words to know we’re doing the best job we can.

I was very happy to even heard that several teachers nominated me for that as that’s how those awards work, so people were seeing what work I was putting in. Whether it was one on one with a kid during her nap time. Helping the janitor nailing a cookie sheet back into the wall. Subbing for teachers when they were out.  Helping a sub out with classroom control.

I went above and beyond quite a bit during the 2014-2015 school year.  It was fantastic to see that it was all done for the right reasons as I just am that there who wants to be there for you in whatever way I can.

 

About Stephen Ajamie

Writing in all areas of music, sports, and fake wrestling, now it's time for Stephen to tackle himself in writing. View all posts by Stephen Ajamie

Leave a Reply

