Tunes

I had to use a lifeline today for my prompt as the original one did nothing for me.  Even with today’s prompt I cheated a bit as I picked a tune that moved back some years ago, and still holds true to this day.

Music is such a personal thing – what music moved you this year? Share a track or playlist.

Hold Me Down Lyrics

I found a letter that said, “I’m sorry that
You were asleep when I wrote these words down”
You’d think I’d ought to be used to that by now

Save for a few of those late night episodes
Missed opportunities, and “I Don’t Cares”
There’s not a lot that I feel obliged to share or talk about

I’ll have my brother stop by this Saturday
T pick up my things just make sure you’re not there
This may sound bad and don’t take it the wrong way

I love you, however
You hold me down
You hold me down
You hold me down
You hold me down

You’re the echoes of my everything
You’re the emptiness the whole world sings at night
You’re the laziness of afternoon
You’re the reason why I burst and why I bloom

How will I break the news to you?
How will I break the news to you?

Cancel our dinner with Max and Caroline
Feed Jackie’s gerbil and try to stay clean
We’ll talk it over after I’ve had
Some time alone to sort it out

You hold me down
You hold me down
You hold me down
You hold me down

You’re the echoes of my everything
You’re the emptiness the whole world sings at night
You’re the laziness of afternoon
You’re the reason why I burst and why I bloom

You’re the leaky sink of sentiment
You’re the failed attempts I never could forget
You’re the metaphors I can’t create
To comprehend this curse that I call love

How will I break the news to you?
How will I break the news to you?
How will I break the news to you?
How will I break the news to you?
How will I break the news to you?

This is the song “Hold Me Down” by Motion City Soundtrack off their album Commit this To Memory. It’s such a great closing track to that album and one that ultimately gave me chills while listening to it one evening.

I wish I had some bigger story to this, but truly, I don’t. I can recall driving home with this song playing at a louder than normal level when all of the sudden I had chills running up my back and goosebumps on my arms.

I don’t even remember being in a breakup or anything of the sort, but I felt myself in that song. That to me is such a great factor in determining a moving song.

For my own songwriting, this is why I also went the route of singing my songs.

I might not write anything groundbreaking, but when I write lyrics, I can hear how I want them sung, and that’s why I sing them. I know what I am feeling in that moment of writing, so I need to convey that.

This tune is something that will always hold a special place in my head for that moment it created. If I ever did that with my own songs, I would be pleased.

About Stephen Ajamie

Writing in all areas of music, sports, and fake wrestling, now it's time for Stephen to tackle himself in writing. View all posts by Stephen Ajamie

Leave a Reply

